Quantcast
Blogs

US fury as honest mistake denies Maurice Edu world glory

|

Maurice Edu was the victim of the worst mistake of the World Cup so far when his 84th minute ‘goal’ was disallowed to deny the USA victory over Slovenia.

The Rangers midfielder timed his run perfectly to connect with a Landovan Donavan free kick and smashed the ball high into the net.

Just before Edu connected with the cross referee Koman Coulibaly of Mali blew for a mysterious foul.

“I still don’t know why the goal was disallowed,” US coach Bob Bradley admitted. “Nobody knows at this moment.”

There was less pushing and shoving than usual at set-pieces with Edu concentrating entirely on connecting with the ball.

“I’m a little gutted to be honest,” added Donovan. “I don’t know how they stole that last goal from us. I’m not sure what the call was. He (the referee) wouldn’t tell us what the call was.”

The decision was like a flash back to last season in the SPL when mysterious decisions left managers such as Gus MacPherson and Craig Brown bewildered.

Edu’s goal would have capped a fantastic comeback for the USA who trailed two nil at the interval thanks to first half goals from Valter Birsa and Zlatan Ljubijankic.

The Rangers midfielder was one of two half-time changes made by US coach Bob Bradley with Landon Donovan pulling a goal back in the 48th minute.

With eight minutes left to play Michael Bradley, son of the US coach, equalised when he raced to connect with a header from Jozy Altidore before blasting an unstoppable shot past Samir Handanovic.

The draw leaves Group C perfectly poised with both teams going into their final match with a chance of qualifying for the last 16 knock-out stage.

Follow Video Celts on Twitter

Share this article

Online and independent- the only way to be. Enjoying instant news access and reaction, following the trends if not an influencer!

3 comments
  • Jersey says:

    Guess now he knows what it would be like to play for Celtic.

  • KEN says:

    Was hugh Dallas the referee?
    That was a typical scottish ‘honest’ mistake.
    Aye right.

  • lordofthewing says:

    Can understand the USA frustration. If anything there was at least 2 pens could have been awarded in the melee.

Comments are closed.