Date: 21st April 2017 at 6:32am
Written by:

Celtic turned Glasgow Green and White once again by winning the Glasgow Cup for the fourth season running.

Ewan Henderson and Jack Aitchison were the scorers on the night as the hoops triumphed 2-1 over a plucky but limited side from the fabled Murray Park conveyor belt.

Having lifted the trophy at Celtic Park, Hampden and Ibrox last night’s Firhill success created a grand slam of cup wins across the city.

In truth it wasn’t the best of matches for the fans tuning in on STV Glasgow but in the opening 20 minutes there was enough to suggest that a number of the Celtic players can have a future in the game.

The two goalscorers were prominent as Celtic pushed for an early goal, forcing a number of corners but overall the delivery from set pieces didn’t amount to much.

After a handful of saves from the Sevco keeper Celtic took the lead in the 17th minute. Brian Kinnear pushed away a shot from Aitchison, when the ball was returned into the box Henderson tried a Dembele style flick at goal, when Kinnear parried it Henderson was ready for the rebound and netted from close range.

After taking the lead Celtic slipped out of the game and paid the price in the 44th minute when Matthew Shiels equalised with virtually Sevco’s first attempt at goal.

The first 15 minutes of the second half was worrying as Celtic struggled to make any impact on the game with basic passes failing to find their target as they dropped deeper and deeper.

Midway through the second half Celtic regained the lead through Aitchison. After being fouled midway inside the Sevco half as he held the ball up but having no foul awarded Jack collected the ball 20 yards from goal, worked his way across the edge of the box then fired a low reverse shot that wrong footed Kinnear into the net.

There were a couple of scares around the Celtic goal as the ball was lumped in looking for an equaliser but Celtic held their own to lift the trophy.

It wasn’t in the same style as last season’s 4-0 win at Ibrox but that didn’t hold the bhoys back as they celebrated getting their hands back on the trophy.

Celtic:- Ryan Mullen; Max Potter, Stephen Welsh, Robbie Deas, Daniel Church; Kerr McInroy, Kristi Marku (Kieran McGrath 76 mins); Keiran Campbell (David McKay 88 mins), Ewan Henderson, Tommy Caffrey (Grant Savoury 46); Jack Aitchison.

Not Used:- Joshua Rae (Gk), Scott Robertson, Paul Kennedy, Andrew Kerr.