Quantcast
Latest News

Naismith and Beaton escape SFA action over Brown attack

|

No retrospective action will be taken against for his first half stamp on during the Scottish Cup Final.

Referee awarded a free kick against the skipper for pushing but failed to take any action for the deliberate stamp on the grounded Celt.

It seems incredible that Beaton took no action at the time with the SFA doubling down rather than undermining their appointment.

Beaton ignored similar actions by Alfredo Morelos against Celtic in December 2018, it seems that when the Lanarkshire man is in charge almost anything goes against the hoops with the Daily Record reporting:

The SFA will not punish Hearts for appearing to stamp on Celtic counterpart  in Sunday’ Scottish Cup Final.

It was the first of a number of flashpoints between the two skippers, with the pair colliding at a corner kick before Brown seemed to dish out some heavy stick after his side clinched the quadruple Treble on penalties.

Referee John Beaton did not punish Naismith for the incident towards the start of the game and compliance officer had until 3pm to make the call if Naismith should be given retrospective punishment. But after that deadline passed on Tuesday afternoon, the Jambos man won’t face further action.

Naismith was booked for knocking Brown to the ground during the second half but managed to escape through the full 120 minutes without a red card, going on to sore the opening penalty during the shoot-out.

Brown played on for 105 minutes but will miss Celtic’ match on Wednesday night at home to Ross County.

Related posts

Share this article

Online and independent- the only way to be. Enjoying instant news access and reaction, following the trends if not an influencer!