Quantcast
Latest News

Video: The truth about the Boli Bolingoli ‘handball’

|
Image for Video: The truth about the Boli Bolingoli ‘handball’

It seems that Celtic got away with one yesterday at Motherwell.

Shortly after Bevis Mugabe put in a horror attack on David Turnbull the ball was bouncing around the Celtic penalty box. Without doubt Boli Bolingoli raised his left arm to the ball as it bounced favourably allowing Celtic to clear through Cameron Carter-Vickers.

That was good enough for Graham Alexander and a variety of pundits to jump on. A refereeing mistake had saved Celtic, Ange Postecoglou’s side had away with one, again.

Closer inspection reveals a slightly different story, like the recent Nicky Clark penalty claim in the 1-1 draw with Dundee United the referee had missed a clear foul before the highlighted Celtic incident.

As the ball comes in from the right Kevin van Veen raises his left arm to control the ball, from his arm the ball changes direction and strikes Bolingoli.

Yes, Celtic got away with one but only because stand-in ref Craig Fordyce failed to see the handball from van Veen immediately before Bolingoli handled.

Share this article

Online and independent- the only way to be. Enjoying instant news access and reaction, following the trends if not an influencer!

1 comment

  • Brian says:

    As a Celtic fan I thought it was a Motherwell penalty until I seen the footage of the Motherwell player handball it first, I was mistaken maybe the Motherwell manager with apologies once he’s seen it. Naw!!! Don’t think so.

Comments are closed.