Chris Gentles was involved in one of the greatest refereeing miscarriages of justice of the season during last night’s Glasgow Cup tie between Celtic and Clyde.
A first half goal from Ben Wylie looked like giving Celtic the points with the tournament being played on a round robin bases between five clubs with four going through to the semi-finals.
With a few minutes left to play substitute David Goodwillie broke clear down the left with Conor Hazard advancing to meet the former Scotland star.
It is doubtful whether any contact was made, what can’t be debated is that the ‘incident’ took place at least a yard outside the penalty box with both feet of the Celtic keeper well clear of the 18 yard box.
Not according to Gentles who decided that contact had been made and that it had been inside the penalty box. His assistant seemed to agree with that decision.
1 minute 25 seconds for Goodwillie/Hazard penalty incident
A quick internet search reveals that the last time Gentles was allowed to referee a senior match was in 2018 when he took charge of a 1-0 win for Alloa against Partick Thistle.
His name did ring a faint bell with me, a further search revealed the most ridiculous penalties that I have ever seen awarded to Celtic, in a 2016 Glasgow Cup tie against Queens Park. It was an embarrassing decision.
It seems that Gentles hasn’t got any better in the last five years but he is still picking up his SFA match fees.
How can a referee & linesman come to the decision the incident was in the box? I don't even think Hazard touches him as he clips his own feet and falls over. pic.twitter.com/slBgzbJYRP
— NEILJUNG67 (@NEILJUNGERS67) November 24, 2021
That was some amount of wrong decisions on show in one go?
— Bhoys Analytics (@BhoysAnalytics) November 24, 2021