Quantcast
Latest News

McInnes- Collum got it right with Shinnie penalty

|
Image for McInnes- Collum got it right with Shinnie penalty

Derek McInnes has claimed that Willie Collum got it right with Aberdeen’s second penalty against Celtic.

Graeme Shinnie took an acrobatic dive in the penalty box with Scotland’s leading referee instantly pointing to the penalty spot.

In real time it looked a clear dive with television replays confirming that the Aberdeen skipper had conned Collum into the decision. Sam Cosgrove equalised from the spot with seven minutes left to play.

I have seen it, I think there is a push in the back,” McInnes told The Sun. “I remember criticising Shinnie against Celtic in the past when he was nudged and didn’t go down.

Lustig doesn’t need to put his hand on the back of Shinnie. Although what do I know about penalties!”

Fortunately Celtic battled back from that injustice to score twice through Odsonne Edouard and Scott Sinclair to record a 4-3 win. In the first half Collum opted to only book Niall McGinn for an over the ball studs up attack on Ryan Christie.

Despite the substandard refereeing on show Celtic managed to record their fifth successive win at Pittodrie to go three points clear at the top of the SPFL table after Hibs grabbed a draw at Ibrox.

Aberdeen are now back in fourth place trailing Steven Gerrard’s side by three points in the battle for second place.

Share this article

Online and independent- the only way to be. Enjoying instant news access and reaction, following the trends if not an influencer!