Quantcast
Latest News

Shinnie and Collum escape Scot-free over Pittodrie dive

|
Image for Shinnie and Collum escape Scot-free over Pittodrie dive

It seems that Graeme Shinnie will escape punishment for his outrageous dive against Celtic on December 26. And Willie Collum.

With attention drawn to Alfredo Morelos and the SFA’s selective lines of reporting the simulation of the Aberdeen skipper has been overlooked.

Celtic were leading 2-1 at Pittodrie when Shinnie overplayed the ball in the penalty box then decided to launch himself into mid air. Collum was directly behind the midfielder and instantly pointed to the penalty spot with Sam Cosgrove equalising with seven minutes left to play.

Fortunately Celtic had time to score two more goals which took some attention away from Shinnie’s dive.

If the SFA were an efficient organisation Shinnie would have been given a two match suspension and missed out on Aberdeen’s 2-1 win away to Livingston. With no reporting and all refereeing matters out of bounds it’s not known if the incident was reviewed or any decision made.

Yesterday the SFA informed trusted media sources that no action would be taken against Alfredo Morelos following the Glasgow derby in which three potential red card incidents were highlighted by Sky Sports. Aberdeen chief Stewart Milne has requested that the SFA host a summit of refereeing and disciplinary matters.

Share this article

Online and independent- the only way to be. Enjoying instant news access and reaction, following the trends if not an influencer!